30-Day Free Trial!

How to use a SoftRAID startup volume with High Sierra

If you're using High Sierra, and booting up from a SoftRAID volume, you'll need to follow the steps given in this forum post, since the macOS High Sierra Installer does not recognize SoftRAID volumes as valid startup volumes.

Hello There, Guest! Register
Validating & Verifying Mirrors
I'm a cautious engineer who's upgrading from SoftRAID4(X.6.8) to SoftRAID5(X.6.8 & X.12.6); I always run the previous OS and buy mature hardware - hence my love of 2010-12 Mac Pros with eSATA external hard drives.

I'm converting SoftRAID4 three-disk RAID1 mirror volumes to SoftRAID5. Before I update the drivers to SoftRAID5, I wanted to check the status of my mirror volumes. (I know this is perhaps overly cautious, but once you're in deep poop it's too late.)

I plan to mount all three disks and validate each volume (SoftRAID4 on X.6.8), then split off the third disk as a Read-Only Secondary, then on another machine (running SoftRAID5 on X.12.6) update the disk driver on the two-disk mirror (holding the ROS disk as my backup).

Q#1 Validating three disk mirrors takes some time, so can I restart the machine in the middle of a <Volume >< Validate> operation without losing my place (like Certify) does?

Q#2 Let's say that SoftRAID4 reports an error on validate. If the volume is a 3-disk mirror will it report which disk fails to compare to the other two disks and the offset (or will it use some primary-secondary disk logic here)??

Q#3 Should an error occur, the first thing to check is cable communication issues. I hunt those down every time and repair/replace so my eSATA hardware is historically solid. I think the next thing to do is to run disk verify on each of the three disks and note the offsets of any errors to conclude which disk has faulty media and check the offset against the validate error. Is this the logical second step here?