SoftRAID Support Forum
Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro - Printable Version

+- SoftRAID Support Forum (https://www.softraid.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Solving Problems (https://www.softraid.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Forum: High Sierra Issues (https://www.softraid.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+--- Thread: Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro (/showthread.php?tid=891)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6


RE: Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro - phodographer - 12-31-2017

iMac Pro experiencing kernel panics while SoftRaid volumes attached. Tried deleting all system files with "softraid" in the name and reinstalling. First installation timed out. Second time it seemed to work but I had 2 SoftRaid icons in the toolbar, and after attaching 2 of my SoftRaid volumes the system froze and restarted. This doesn't happen without SoftRaid volumes attached, nor with same volumes attached to MacBook Pro running High Sierra.

Waiting for software fix or suggestions.


RE: Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro - SoftRAID Support - 12-31-2017

I have not had any reports of kernel panics, so this is an unrelated problem to the driver install issue.

Send us a tech support file to support at softraid so we can investigate.


RE: Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro - SoftRAID Support - 12-31-2017

BTW: SoftRAID can run, but the 5.6.2 (bundled, and limited) driver is loading, which means your volumes can mount, but will not report errors or rebuild. So it is a serious issue, but at least your data is available.


RE: Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro - Hoss713 - 12-31-2017

I'm not seeing any kernel panics, but I am also seeing the issue reported in the first post of this thread on my iMacPro with a ThunderBay enclosure attached and SoftRAID v5.6.3..

Curious if this is at all related to the new kernel extension blocking security feature enabled in High Sierra...

Apple Technical Note TN2459 User-Approved Kernel Extension Loading


RE: Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro - Hoss713 - 12-31-2017

FYI, I have been able to install v5.6.3 with my ThunderBay drives detached, reboot, startup SoftRAID v5.63, then reattach the ThunderBay drives and they show up in the SoftRAID for ThunderBay app and I can monitor the drives.

I was also able to quit the SoftRAID application and restart it. It didn't attempt to reinstall the drivers. Seem like this workaround worked for me....


RE: Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro - SoftRAID Support - 01-01-2018

Thanks for the feedback. We have had other users do your trick, then after a restart, the 5.6.2 driver re-appears. it is a strange issue.


RE: Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro - Hoss713 - 01-01-2018

I've just confirmed that after a reboot, starting up the SoftRAID application once again tries to install the driver. Looks like the workaround is only good until a reboot.


RE: Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro - SoftRAID Support - 01-01-2018

It seems that way.

Somehow, OS X "finds" the old driver and reloads it. That is what makes this so strange.


RE: Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro - MaskAndWig19626 - 01-12-2018

Any news on a fix? I got my iMac Pro two weeks ago and have been checking the SoftRAID webpage daily since then hoping for a solution to update my SoftRAID driver. I'm having the same trouble as everyone else here; it makes me scared to use my Thunderbay 4.

Thanks!


RE: Problem updating SoftRAID driver with new iMac Pro - SoftRAID Support - 01-12-2018

Not yet. We are working on getting an iMac Pro in, as we have been unable to figure this out remotely.

Apple has ignored our bug report so far.

Hopefully we can find a workaround soon. I have a list of users with this problem that I will notify as soon as we find something. if you have an iMac Pro, email to support and we can add you to the list until we can figure this out.